Zurdo Ramirez Makes History With A New Record In 2024: First Mexican Cruiserweight Champion!

Zurdo Ramirez

This Saturday night, Gilberto “Zurdo” Ramírez etched his name into Mexican boxing history. Ramírez, fighting southpaw, dominated Arsen Goulamirian over twelve rounds at the YouTube Theater in Inglewood, California, to capture the World Boxing Association (WBA) Cruiserweight Championship. All three judges saw the fight decisively in Ramírez’s favor, awarding him identical scorecards of 118-111.

Zurdo Ramírez

This victory marks a significant milestone for Mexican boxing, as Ramírez becomes the first fighter from the nation to ever claim a cruiserweight world title. “Zurdo” now boasts an impressive record of 46-1 with 30 knockouts, while Goulamirian suffers his first professional defeat, dropping his record to 27-1.

Goulamirian had previously defended his title successfully three times against Kane Watts, Constantin Bejenaru, and Alexey Egorov, with three of those victories coming by way of knockout.

Ramírez’s win over Goulamirian extends his winning streak to two fights. Last October, he defeated Joe Smith Jr. by unanimous decision, bouncing back from his first professional defeat against Dmitri Bivol in November 2022.

The Inglewood fight card featured several other exciting bouts. Kareem Hackett was knocked out by Rowdy Legend Montgomery in their WBA Intercontinental Light Heavyweight title fight. Additionally, the evening saw victories for Santiago Domínguez, Alexis Rocha, Ricardo Rafael Sandoval, José Mancilla, and Joel Iriarte.

With his victory, Gilberto “Zurdo” Ramírez joins Noel Mikaelian (WBC) and Chris Billam-Smith (WBO) as current cruiserweight champions. The International Boxing Federation title remains vacant.

FAQs On Zurdo Ramírez


  • Who is the first Mexican Cruiserweight Champion?

  • Gilberto “Zurdo” Ramírez is the first Mexican Cruiserweight Champion in history.

  • What was the result of Ramírez vs. Goulamirian?

  • Gilberto Ramírez defeated Arsen Goulamirian by unanimous decision (118-111) to win the WBA Cruiserweight Championship.

  • What is Gilberto Ramirez’s record now?

  • Ramírez’s record now stands at 46-1 with 30 knockouts.

  • Who are the other current Cruiserweight champions?

  • Noel Mikaelian (WBC) and Chris Billam-Smith (WBO) are the other current Cruiserweight champions.

    Read More >>https://trenditweetz.com/ufl-week-1-renegades-stallions-aim-for-comeback-arlington-vs-birmingham/

For feedback and suggestions, Join Our Whatsapp Community:  WhatsApp us: https://chat.whatsapp.com/CkyOKx9F6eGB9GwV2ATGvu

Leave a Comment